Meet Vanessa Salazar

Today it is my great pleasure to have Vanessa Salazar on my blog. I have asked her to respond to some interview questions so we might learn more about this talented author. Welcome, Vanessa.

IMG_5356a

Where do you live and what do you like about living there?

I am a Caribbean girl. Born and bred Trinidadian. My country is a place where people still say good morning to strangers, and it doesn’t matter what is happening in the world; Trinidadians always like to have fun.

What are your favourite hobbies?

I love going to the beach on weekends. During the week I read just about anything and watch TV dramas like Homeland, Scandal, and Games of Thrones.

 How did you get started with writing?

I was actively looking for writers workshops I could attend or groups I could join. I saw an advertisement in the newspaper for a First Time Author Appreciation function. I attended the function and learned that there was a Writers Union of Trinidad and Tobago. The following Saturday I attended a meeting and subsequently joined the organization. There, I began writing short stories and within the first year I started working on Selima and the Merfolk.

What do you like about being a writer?

I like that there are no limits to what you can write. Fiction writing is totally dependent on your imagination, so all the daydreaming I used to do as a child was good practice.

What would you like people to know about you?

Firstly, my prize possession is my family who have always been very supportive of me. Secondly, I am an ordinary person who decided to overcome my fears and ended up fulfilling my dreams.

What kinds of things do you like to write about?

Folklore and fiction which, depending on what you write, can be the same thing.

What is the title of your book?

Selima and the Merfolk.

Can you tell us in  a sentence or two what it’s about?

It’s about a girl who is forced to live with her estranged father in Las Cuevas. There she discovers a mystical river inhabited by merfolk.

Do your characters end up having learned something in the story that has improved them in some way? What values have they learned that will aid in their growth towards adulthood?

My protagonist has a fear of rejection. Falling in love aids her in curbing that fear because you have no choice when you fall in love. You simply cannot help yourself. Incidentally, falling in love helps her repair her relationship with her father. She learns to trust and forgive.

Do you have another book planned? Without giving away the plot, can you tell us what type of book it will be?

Yes, I do. I am working on the sequel to “Selima and the Merfolk.”

SELIMA BOOK COVER

Where can people buy your book?

If you live in Trinidad, copies can be purchased at:

Paper Based Bookshop – Hotel Normandie, 10 Nook Avenue, St. Anns

Deltex Art Shop – 66 Pembroke Street, Port of Spain.

You can also send me a message on my blog’s contact page and I’ll get a copy to you.

Hardcover, paperback and e-book copies can be purchased online at amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.

8 thoughts on “Meet Vanessa Salazar

  1. Wow I’m impressed… I love the book cover and Vanessa sounds a fun person to know… Trinidad sounds a wonderful place to live, the fact people still greet each other and strangers gives me hope… and of fact they play good cricket as well… Good Luck with the book Vanessa, hope you sell lots…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Reading Room Xl | Wadadli Pen

Leave a Reply

