When Valentine’s Day is Over…

My guest today is Linn Halton. She writes love stories all the time but today she’s writing about herself.

linnbhalton

When Valentine’s Day is over …

Let me be very clear—I love ‘love’—that’s why I write romance novels. I love romantic gestures too – who doesn’t? But I have a slightly different take on Valentine’s Day, having been married for quite a long time.

Rewind a few years and as a sixteen-year-old I met my soulmate – he was seventeen at the time. On our first Valentine’s Day we had been dating for four months and had been saving up to get married for two and a half months! Marry in haste and repent at leisure they say. It wasn’t true for us and every single day he’s still the one I would choose.

That first Valentine’s Day was exciting because it had a special meaning. For the first time I was buying gifts for someone I truly loved, someone who made me feel loved and complete. Someone I knew I’d be with forever. As the years roll on we’ve had fun with small gifts for each other, meals out, flowers – until I put a stop to one rose for every year we’d been together. The cost was ridiculous! Now? We sometimes buy cards, sometimes we don’t. Not very romantic, I can hear you saying …

photo 1 (600x800)

The point is, it isn’t about Valentine’s Day anymore. I think our friends would agree that we are two of the most romantic married people they know, who are still madly in love.

We pay lip service to Valentine’s Day because we keep romance alive throughout the year. We have regular date nights – just the two of us in a smart restaurant and we dress up for each other. The flowers here (and a HUGE box of chocolates) were a surprise gift from Lawrence. We’ve recently moved house and it hasn’t been easy. We had no heating or cooking facilities for most of the Christmas and New Year period, plus we are doing the renovation work ourselves. I’m the filler/sander/painter/wallpaperer and lovely Lawrence is knocking out bits of wall, laying floors, and replacing the kitchen and bathrooms.

We work well as a team. We both give our ‘all’ and we don’t take each other for granted. The flowers were a ‘thank you’ to me for putting up with the mess and the lack of facilities. My romantic gesture in return? When Lawrence is working he likes constant cups of tea and coffee, and despite the lack of facilities I made sure mealtimes weren’t boring (and that wasn’t easy). I never moan when I’m constantly cleaning through after the messy jobs (his or mine). Times when I was worried that my day job was running very behind, I still made sure I did my part so he wasn’t held up and despite the chaos, we laughed a lot and counted our blessings.

Heart with wedding rings on a white background. 3D image.The cottage renovation is coming on well – we are six weeks in and are both back to work during the day. We work on the cottage evenings and weekends. Within three months it will be done and then date nights are back on. You see, that’s the bonus of having found your soulmate. Sometimes romance has to be put on hold (well, paint in your hair and on your jeans isn’t the most romantic look) but one thing is for sure – when you pick back up those romantic dinners for two are even MORE special!

So if you have a long-term relationship ‘romance isn’t just for Valentine’s Day … it’s forever’.

Linn has just moved to the Forest of Dean with her husband, Lawrence, and cat with ‘catitude’,
Mr Tiggs.

Website (linnbhalton.co.uk) Twitter: @LinnBHalton
Facebook: Linn B Halton and Author Linn B Halton
Linn’s books: http://viewauthor.at/LinnBHalton
Pinterest
Loveahappyending Lifestyle
HarperImpulse and Sapphire Star Publishing author pages

8 thoughts on “When Valentine’s Day is Over…

  1. Waves all and what a romantic bunch we are! I must admit I always think it’s rather sad if someone needs a special national day to do something romantic when you have a full-blown relationship going on. Mind you, when you first meet someone Valentine’s day can be a great excuse to raise the ‘L’ word – or at least hint at it, if it hasn’t already raised its head! Fabulous to be here, Anneli, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

