Christmas Interview – Caroline James

The countdown to Christmas continues. Since it is traditionally a time for sharing, I thought I’d start by sharing our ideas, beliefs, and experiences about the holiday season and Christmas. Over the next few weeks, I will be hosting friends who have agreed to let us into their lives by answering a few interview questions.0

Bravely volunteering her answers today is our guest, Caroline James. Is she really that wild?????

Caroline James press pic 1

1. Do you celebrate Christmas?

Very much so – I love Christmas and like all the traditions that go with it.

2. Have you ever spent Christmas alone?

No, I haven’t, thankfully.

3. Have you ever had a non-traditional Christmas dinner? What did you have?

Not on the day –  I am a total traditionalist and the turkey and all the trimmings are something I look forward to all year.

4. What are your thoughts on gift giving?

I think it’s all too much these days. This year I have really been firm with family and friends and set a low budget – if at all. Christmas doesn’t have to be expensive; it is after all, supposed to be a religious occasion.

5. What was the most fun activity you’ve done at Christmas?

I love it when it snows and will be the first out to make a snowman or go for a lovely long walk. One year we walked up to a local castle and had a snowball fight around the turrets. Everyone else out walking joined in and it was a great deal of fun to play – men turned into little boys and women let their hair down.

6. Do you have stockings either at Christmas, or on St. Nicholas Day?

Yes – every year, filled with very small gifts. It takes me back to being a child and the crunch of the stocking on the end of my bed when I woke in the dark – such excitement!

7. What was the best gift you ever received at Christmas?

My son and his first Christmas.

8. What was the worst gift you ever received at Christmas?

A fire-extinguisher from my husband… sorry – ex-husband!

9. What do you do with gifts you hate?

Give them to charity

10. What was the best homemade gift you ever received?

Chocolates from my god-daughter, oh and a lovely wool cape that my sister made for me

11. Have you ever given a homemade gift? Tell about it.

Yes, I always give gifts that I’ve made. A friend tells me it wouldn’t be Christmas without one of my cakes and I like to give Christmas marmalade made with oranges, cranberries and whisky. I make small cakes and fudge and chocolate truffles – all things that package beautifully with festive ribbons and bows.  I’d like to give the sloe gin that I make in the autumn but I’ve usually drunk it all by Christmas… too delicious!

chocolate flapjacks

12. What would you change about Christmas?

I wish it wasn’t so commercial – Christmas shopping in November just seems wrong.

13. What would you keep the same if you could?

That loved ones are safe and well.

14. What is your favourite Christmas music or song?

Anything Christmassy – whether carols in a church or Noddy Holder screaming… “It’s Christmas….!”

15. What do you like best about Christmas?

There’s an air of expectancy – I can’t explain why but it’s there and it’s lovely.

16. Any additional thoughts about Christmas?

Christmas is the culmination of the year to me, an ending before a beginning. A time to reflect, before the new year starts.

***

Web:          www.carolinejamesauthor.co.uk

Twitter:     @CarolineJames12 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/carolinejamesauthor

Blog:          www.carolinejamesauthor.blogspot.co.uk

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/550084.Caroline_James 

Caroline’s novels:

Coffee Tea The Gypsy & Me front cover 6 x 9 jpeg

 Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy & Me

 Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

******************************************************************************

SYTYACC_cover jpeg

So, You Think You’re A Celebrity… Chef?

Amazon.co.uk 

Amazon.com 

 

10 thoughts on “Christmas Interview – Caroline James

  1. Lovely answers! My worst gift was a jumbo box of clingfilm! I mean, it’s hard to looked thrilled and grateful to that when you rip of the paper. Thankfully, not from my husband (I would have whacked him over the head with it!) Merry Christmas 🙂

    Like

  2. Loved this interview… sounds very much how I like Christmas.. except now we only give the kids presents and on occasions we buy one R50 present for a man and one for a women, they all get tossed into a bag under the tree and dealt out by the kids… (R50 is about $5) this way we have less presents to buy and to me much more fun… I even got my own present back one year and was pleased to get it…

    Like

    • That’s the way to buy a present! Give one that you wouldn’t mind receiving. We basically do the same with the gift giving. At our age we have everything we need, so why stress out over the gift buying? Stay tuned for the next interview coming soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

