Emma Calin Blows her Horn

I’m quite moved to be on here. Anneli is a writer I admire and unbeknown to me, an element in her own writing followed very much one of the areas I address in my “Love In A Hopeless Place Collection.” I won’t tell you any more….you’ll have to read on.

Now, ever since I’ve been in this business I have been looking for unique features of my own work and persona to promote. Just maybe I am the only female social realist romance writer to be able to blow her own trumpet by actually playing her own trombone. Last Sunday I answered the bugle call of duty and helped out on the park bandstand. Come on Harper Collins et al – bring out your trombonists and do battle!

Click on this link. http://ow.ly/n2eMU  It will take  you to the blog where you’ll see the video of the band.

Emma at the Bandstand

And now to the book. Anneli’s blog is the first stop on my “Blowing my own Trombone Book Launch Blog Tour.” I have never tried to launch a story collection before. Short stories are strange animals – a bit like mules that have great strength but are enclosed within their lonely selves and cannot breed. I have always loved this format. In a way it is a look into somebody else’s critical life moment and a moving on back into your own life. Short stories are often described by scribes as a discipline. This is true, but they are also a freedom just to dip in for the good bits and dip out of the whole novel story arc. The “story” is the whole essence of fiction. I have always described fiction as a way of stealing the truth from the pocket of lies. Around the camp fires and the canteen tables, stories have been told. Most are lies. They deceive us into the truth of ourselves.

I may sound a bit serious and literary in these remarks. I am grateful to have the opportunity to say these things here because Anneli Purchase is a sincere writer of passion and truth who seeks integrity in her work. She has given me great assistance in proofreading and editing my work and whatever you think – YOU cannot spot your own mistakes! You know what you wanted to say and your brain fills in the BIG GAPING HOLES!!!

And here at last, is the cover of my “Love In a Hopeless Place Collection.”

LIAHP boxed set with border

These are realist “true life” tales from the less advantaged sector of society. Love grows like weeds in the cracks of time. But weeds are vital and savage. We know  they will always win in the end. Their anarchic victory confers upon us the structure of self discovery.

This ‘Love in a Hopeless Place Collection’ is launched tomorrow and available from Amazon worldwide.

Now, I am working on Romance because our dreams are as true as our hopes and reality. Our tomorrows are as possible as our dreams.  A lover’s arms are as strong as our power to reward, or not reward, with our yielding.

Oooh – I love it! I love it! I love LOVE!

Thanks for having me Anneli – and for your help and support.

Blowing Blog logo

Hear some more tunes from the bandstand and follow the rest of my tour on these links:

18th July Love a Happy Ending Lifestyle Magazine

and Real Life According to Emma

20th July Sheryl Browne

21st July Nicky Wells

22nd July Melanie Robertson-King

23rd July Miriam Wakerly

25th July Bonnie Trachtenberg

26th July Patricia Sands

27th Stephanie Keys

28th Linn Halton

31st July Venture Galleries Authors Collection

Emma Calin Links

For more books by Emma Calin:  http://www.viewAuthor.at/EmmaCalin

Emma Calin Blog: http://www.emmacalin.blogspot.com

Emma Calin Website: http://www.emmacalin.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/emma.calin

Facebook Page for book: https://www.facebook.com/EmmaCalinBoxedSet

Twitter:@Emma Calin

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/emmacalin/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4915751.Emma_Calin

emma-calins-6-titles-small-150

Leave a Reply

